Turkey Tale

So… my mom pulls out two turkey breasts from the oven.  Someone asks where she got that from, since my brother just finished carving (or hacking) the turkey.  She said she cut off the breasts from the turkey before cooking it. She joked that she performed a mastectomy on the turkey. 

I didn’t laugh.  Rather, I was perplexed. It seemed like an odd thing to do. No wonder my brother appeared to struggle with the turkey.  Poor thing. My mom sabotaged him.

Later, I overheard my brother asking my mom where she got all that extra turkey.  He was probably confused, too.  I tried to help him out and piped up. “Mom cut it off the turkey before she baked it!”

My mom clutched at her belly, doubled over. I watched her in utter confusion. Finally, she gasped out, “I was joking! I bought extra turkey breasts.”

Omg. Of course you don’t cut off the breasts before cooking a turkey. I felt as stupid as the girl who thought they cooked a pregnant turkey.

Leave a Reply

