The Terror

“Shhhh.” I gently removed my fingertips from his back and retreated. My gaze did not leave him.

One more step. Almost in the clear.

Done.  With an inaudible sigh of relief,  I turned around and reached onto a shelf to check pending mail. My leg grazed a VHS tape from the donation pile and it clattered to the floor.

Nooooooo! 

My head whipped around to look at the sleeping toddler. Don’t wake up!

His body inhaled deeply and slightly shuddered. I continued to stand frozen in place. My arms were still in midair, my knees bent as I crouched like a gorilla.

I slowly returned to human form and wiped a bead of sweat from my forehead.  That was close.

Leave a Reply

